Rolling with the Punches

This weekend Alex Smith and the San Francisco 49ers fought hard against our conference rivals, the Detroit Lions. In the process, Smith got a gash on his nose, yet no penalty. This happened repeatedly with others on the team as well…a little bit of a dirty game on the Lions part. But the refs let the boys play. I love this, because nowadays sports are getting a little weak. What happened when a little blood was common? Where diving for the ball sparked fire in your teammates hearts? Yesterday the Niners fought hard and didn’t complain. They played with passion! I hope we can see more of this type of play from them.

I am willing to put myself through anything, temporary pain or discomfort means nothing to me as long as I can see that the experience will take me to a new level. I am interested in the unknown, and the only path to the unknown is through breaking barriers, an often painful process.

-Diana Nyad

Leave a Reply

