Happiness as a Choice

Don’t lose all fear, nor pain. Emotions should be part of what fuels you. I believe we do have a choice on what we want to focus on – happiness for example is something that everyone wants more of in their life!

High expectations are something that I struggle with. At times, I’m aware that I get disappointed in myself or other people because I have a perceived expectation in mind already. I don’t set my expectations aside, nor lower them by any means, but I try not to categorize them as good or bad.

When I have an off day (it doesn’t come very often) I try my best to pin point the emotion and figure out what it is that’s really tugging at me. Then, simply fix it!Β Its definitely easier said than done, however emotions are manageable. Too much of anything could be damaging.

Really, just be who are and know what you are capable of. Push yourself to the limits, because you don’t know how far you can go until you try. The mind is more powerful than we perceive it to be. πŸ˜‰

10 thoughts on “Happiness as a Choice

  1. I agree. It reminds of a native American proverb that says something like ‘we all have 2 wolves inside us. A good one and a bad one’ – the grandfather tells his grandson. His grandson replies ‘which one wins?’ Grandfather: ‘The one we feed.’

  2. Power of the mind! Absolutely right when you say that happiness is a choice! especially on a “bad day” to stand back and count your blessings! Great post girl!

  3. Definitely agree with you! I learned last year that we have the choice to decide what we focus on and not let the bad things continue to replay in our heads. As you said, it is easier said than done but it is something that has helped me tremendously. Love your blog by the way!

    • Hello Dominique! πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for reading!

      What you just said reminded me of a quote “At the end of the day you can either focus on what’s tearing you apart, or what’s holding you together.”

      Cheers!

  4. Pingback: 10 things learned: from a child and a parent. « Reader's Choice

Leave a Reply

