Simplicity

I’m a very simple person. I find the simple life extremely alluring. Give me a small house around nature, close to my family & friends, and I’ll be happy. Seriously.

Scotty Asai – Tahoe Sky

I had a discussion with a few of my coworkers the other day. Are we happy with all this technology around us? Are the children in our generation happier than the children a few generations ago? The American kid on his Nintendo 3DS, or the African kid with a soccer ball? We often have technology and innovation to our disposal every day. We can order food to our doorsteps with a touch of a button, yet fail to realize it is a beautiful day. We live in an era where there are smart phones and dumb people ๐Ÿ˜‰ No offense to smart phone users.

I feel we are blinded by the media at times, losing sight of what is concrete, and truly important in our lives. Don’t get me wrong, I do love browsing the web, playing games, and I definitely feel lucky to have many conveniences that serve to make my life easier. But, I can’t seem to shake off the fact that the weekends where I spend away from technology are the ones I remember most. Taking the time to embrace the beauty of nature, or the company of good friends is something I really enjoy. Here are some pics from Tahoe weekend a few weeks ago!

4 thoughts on “Simplicity

  1. I tried commenting before but I think my internet was screwed up at the time. The simple and natural aspects of life are real and lasting happiness. It’s just so hard for most people to see and realize cause of all the man made happiness that constantly bombards us. I could have easily lived a whole lifetime without realizing this.

    • Hey Mindo! Thanks for coming back and commenting ๐Ÿ™‚

      I agree with you. I think its partly the parents fault for not exposing their children to nature. If you see your parents sitting on the couch all day, you’re more inclined to do the same!

Leave a Reply

