Beauty from Within the Stars

Stars

I’ve always grown up loving the night sky. Stars in particular have fascinated me ever since I could remember.

One of the fondest memories I remember from my childhood was when my dad sat me down and had a heart to heart conversation about life. I couldn’t have beenΒ older than 6. Little did I know, his words would stick with me forever.

Appreciate life for what it is. Have faith in each other.

My parents never pushed religion upon me. Naturally, when growing up, I got bombarded with questions about what I believed in. Quite funny, because I went to a Christian school (It was apparently one of the best schools in the district), so everyone just assumed that I was Christian. I felt so absurdly uncomfortable because we never went to church. As a kid, you don’t really think about the significance of faith, you kind of just follow your parents until you get a stronger sense of what you believe in. Ok, back to the story.

One night my Dad and I sat outside on the sidewalk, just hanging out, and he asked me “How was your day?” Slightly confused 6 year old Kristin answered with, “We talked about God…do you believe in God? What do you believe in?”

“All you have to know is that I believe in doing the right thing. And that’s what you should strive for, too.” Β 

He probably said it in a more fobbish undertone but, that’s how I remembered it. πŸ˜‰ Now when people ask me what’s your faith/religion etc. I simply tell them “I believe in doing the right thing.” πŸ™‚

Don’t let anything stop you from your dreams.

We would sit outside admiring the beauty of the stars. Taking in the moment with each breath. But one day, it rained and I was so sad that that we couldn’t visit the stars!Β He asked me,”Do you want to see the stars tonight?” Little Kristin-“Dad, that’s impossible!”

“If you put your mind into something, it is always possible. Remember that.”

He grabbed an old cardboard box, punctured it randomly with a pencil,the proceeded to stick a flashlight in the box. When he turned that flashlight on…oh boy…it was one of the most beautiful things I’ve seen thus far. The whole room lit up with all types of stars. Small, big, lopsided. And mannn, did I love it.

Pairing these lessons with the beauty of the stars makes moments magical! I’m still completely, utterly in love with the stars ’till this day. When I look up in the clear night sky, I forget the bad, and breathe in the good. πŸ˜€

Dad and I πŸ™‚

Thanks Dad!

Edit 12/26/12: Showed my Dad this post without saying it was from me. He read a couple of lines and asked me “Is this you?!?!” I just said “read!” …he’s not super emotional but he did say “That’s really nice.” πŸ™‚ Yayyyy

14 thoughts on “Beauty from Within the Stars

Leave a Reply

