My Biggest Fear

This must watch video REALLY tugged on my heartstrings. From the moment they started talking, I could feel the energy, and love this family has for one another. Mr. Ryan Woods was unafraid of dying, trying leaving behind as much as he can for his children. This is something we should all strive for every day.

EDIT: Hm, the vid isn’t loading correctly. Trust me its worth the watch! It’s not as pretty, but here’s the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hEJx6nbDyhA&list=PLzvRx_johoA8PC6S5k5S2SszRQOR8oSEa%5D

I’m sure many of you have been asked “What is your biggest fear?” multiple times in your life. I’ve heard so many different answers (spoiler alert if you ever want to ask me this in person). Answers usually range from spiders, to heights, or public speaking. Want to know what mine is?

The fear of losing someone you love. =/

Whenever I contemplate about death, it isn’t a fearless journey. Death is my biggest fear–just not my own death. Life is so damn fickle. Every interaction you have with another human being is important.

“Then there is the most dangerous risk of all – the risk of spending your life not
doing what you want on the bet you can buy yourself the freedom to do it later.”

You can’t change or mend relationships such a short time. What it comes down to is who you’ve touched, and how much of an impact on their life you’ve made. Work hard. Fulfill your responsibilities. Make and maintain friendships. But if you keep postponing your own happiness until “later”, know that tomorrow may never come. Everyone should just take a deep breath everyday and celebrate LIFE! There is so much joy out there to be spread! Every moment is a new opportunity for happiness! 🙂

“…So the questions is, what is the story are we going to live out as we’re dying? Just invite people to live a beautiful story regardless of what type of brokenness they have to deal with.”
-Ryan Woods

Now its my turn to ask you, if you had 1-4 months to live, what would you do?

14 thoughts on “My Biggest Fear

      • Hey! It’s been a little bit stressful, but mostly fantastic. Thanks for asking! My mom has a dog who lives with her in my home town. We’re not sure what kind of dog he is. We got him as older dog from a shelter a few years ago. He looks like some sort of lab mix, but he won’t play fetch, so we’re not sure. When I was sick, we spent every day together for 10 months. Miss that guy!

      • Yeah, that first one didn’t seem like what you were talking about. I love the toast roast. Kind of like funeral before he dies, so they can actually do all the speeches while he’s there.

    • Totally, I think its a great idea. It totally brought tears to my eyes though, I can’t believe how COMPOSED they were the whole time!
      LOL — “but he won’t play fetch”…super funny 🙂 I hope you get to see your mom/the pup soon! 😀

  1. You nailed it. I lost my dad two years ago this May and it still seems like yesterday. One day he was here, the next day he wasn’t. I had to learn the hardest lesson of my life….tell those you love what your really think now because we are never guarenteed another day, another minute or another second for that matter. I talk to my dad every day but it isn’t the same; I have no clue if he can hear me or not.

    I truly don’t take a second for granted and tell my family how much I love them or miss them just in case it is my time, they will know what they mean to me.

    • I’m sorry for your loss. My condolences go out to you and your family. Your dad sounded like he played a very prominent part of your life.

      Also, from just reading/following your blog, I can feel the love and connection you feel for your family 🙂 They are lucky to have such a positive role model person like you in their lives! I’m glad you aren’t taking them for granted 🙂

  2. Great question — You know, I do live my life as if it could be the last 1-4 months. There was a time in my life when I made a conscious decision to LIVE — and live on my terms. That was about 17 years ago. I’m grateful for everyday. I take nothing for granted. My children tell their friends that I live the ‘Wambuuzy’ way. (my name is wambui). When I was no longer afraid of death, I was no longer afraid of life. PEACE-

    • Awww, that’s very inspirational Wambui. I’m glad that you have such a positive influence on your children. I try to live in the same way. Everyday has its blessings. Everyday is a new opportunity! 🙂

  3. My biggest fear, which may crazy as it sounds, is oblivion. Let’s say I don’t wanna be forgotten by the world. I want to leave a mark here, not a scar though. I know the aim is not to live forever. So yeah if I had 1-4 months to live, I’d be busy creating something that would last forever. 😀

    • Hey Footsteps,

      I don’t think that’s crazy at all! What is your dream/what would you like to create that “lasts forever”, if you don’t mind me asking? I would love to pick your brain a little bit 😉

      • Haha let’s see. Most hopefully a song. Because I’m good in music. I crave for fame 😛
        Nevertheless, even this blog would last forever like as long as internet exists. So maybe we all are one our way to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

