Pre-Tournament Pep Talk and Thoughts

AHHH! Tomorrow will the the first tournament that I’ve trained for in 3 years. The past few months of training have been a lot of fun…and filled with buckets of sweat, and lots of scrapes and bruises.

When I injured my ankle a few years ago, I wasn’t the same fearless little asian girl from before. Though I still trained hard, and told others I was fine, in the back of my mind, I was afraid of getting hurt again. That mental barrier crippled me. But after a a few months of laying low, I knew I had to get back into action. Real action. A few torn ligaments aren’t going to stop me, are you kidding? The first steps towards rehab were NOT fun. But I told myself no excuses. If you want to get back, you’ve got to push! I knew it wasn’t going to pretty, and it was going to be a long journey. Train without equipment, train on concrete, but move forward.

When people ask if I’ll be the same as before, I tell them no, I’m better than before. And tomorrow, I’ll have to do more than tell them, I’ll have to show them.

Here are just some thoughts that go through my mind:

Forms

You’ve done this before
Make the judges and audience feel your passion
Slow down, breathe, focus
Keep the intensity, stay grounded
A good martial artist can see their opponent, a great one is able to portray the opponent to the audience, too

Sparring

Practice control, but don’t hold back
Stay light on your feet
Hands up, eyes up
React
Dash forward, retreat back
The floor is yours, take control

Overall, I believe I’ve trained hard. I’m one that believes that if you go through pain today, you will feel less pain tomorrow. Though I’m nervous as hell, I keep reminding myself to control that feeling to perform better. I have high personal expectations, and though I’m not looking to win anything; I am looking to better improve myself as a martial artist.

The time is now. LETS GO!!

5 thoughts on “Pre-Tournament Pep Talk and Thoughts

  1. Looks like you have really prepared well. Even I had suffered from torn ligament in my ankle. But, if the rehab is good, you are good to participate within a year. I agree that the thought will linger when you spar in the beginning, but as you continue to train hard, you will not be bothered by it. anyways, a good post. Thumbs up and all the best.

  2. This post makes me want to start training again. It’s really great! I wish there was a school close to where I live. Good stuff ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

