Underdog

I’ve always been an underdog, ever since I came out of the womb. Its so weird hearing from my mom that I was born premature, in an incubator, weighing in at ~4 lbs. A fighter I was, and a fighter I’ll always be. You see, life is quite funny. When you look back you can look and see who had faith in you, and saw your potential, and those who underestimate you. Sadly, I had to drive myself to do most of the things I love. Support from my parents was never really there. It really sucked, actually. When you’re young you rely a lot on your parents to give you some guidance. But everyone has their story, right? I think I turned out all right for the most part. :p

That brings me to another point. My friend and I were talking about underdogs the other day, and she mentioned that she and I are underdogs in different ways. It makes sense. We’re pretty much young guns in our industry, just trying to do the best we can do with what we’re given. I personally like climbing the ladder. I’m not sure what it is. Something about proving to others I can do it? Possibly. I think its more about gaining the respect of others around me. Respect, unlike power can only be earned by jumping through fire with your peers.

Here’s a vid that I really enjoyed. The Last Pick – Jeremy Lin

Leave a Reply

